Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

Sir Francis Hill Community Primary School

'Learn, Achieve, Succeed'


Take a look at some of our recent photos.

Swipe content


Welcome to Nursery


In Nursery (Bumblebee class) our teachers are

Mrs Sugden, Mrs Hempstead and Mr Fish-Clark.

Our teaching assistants are Miss Morgan and Miss Stothard.


Starting Nursery or full-time school is an exciting adventure for you and your child, it is the start of a new chapter, where new friendships are made and new experiences had. At Sir Francis Hill School we aim to ensure that your child has a confident and happy start to their school life.

We cover 6 main topics throughout the year and 6 mini topics. Click on the topics below to see what Nursery will be exploring and finding out about!

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the Reception year.  We are very fortunate in our school that we have a puropse built Nursery and 3 Reception classes. This allows us to provide quality transition as children move up through the school and deliver a strong start to their school journey. Our Nursery staff aspire to give our children the highest quality teaching and play provision. This ensures that children feel comfortable and excited to start their day.


In Nursery we aim to provide:

- Quality and consistency so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind.

- A secure foundation through planning for the learning and development of each individual child, and assessing and reviewing what they have learned regularly.

- Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers.

- Quality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.


EYFS teaching is not guided by the National Curriculum as Y1-6 are. Instead, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which supports children's learning in a more practical and gradual approach. There are 7 areas within this curriculum, split into 2 sections. The first section covers the 'Prime' areas, which surrounds a child's emotional and physical development. We aim to secure these as a priority in Nursery and through to Reception, as a happy and comfortable child will feel excited to start their day and begin learning. The other section surrounds the 'Specific' areas of learning, which are the more subject oriented areas.


The 7 areas of learning are as follows:


Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language.
  • Physical Development.
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Specific areas:

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


We will cover all of these areas continually throughout your child's time in Reception, and we will communicate any concerns or strengths with you.

Nursery Teachers Contact Form

If you would like to contact a specific teacher, please make this clear in your message - e.g. For the attention of Mrs Sugden.